•  

     World Languages

     
    King Philip High School World Language Department

     

    Our Vision

    The King Philip World Language Department is committed to providing a safe, respectful learning environment for all students.  Through the process of second language acquisition students will communicate effectively in the three modes of communication (interpersonal, interpretive, and presentational) using curriculum aligned with ACTFL standards.

    Additionally, students will demonstrate an understanding of cultures and grow in their awareness of both themselves and the world around them. Students will learn to access another culture on its own terms, thus enabling and stimulating students to begin the lifelong process of increasing their critical understanding of that language’s culture, its place in the world at large, and by comparison, their own culture’s place in that 21st century world.  

    The standards, expectations and enthusiasm of the members of the department will encourage a deep respect for learning in all students.


     

    World Language Department

    WL Department -Curriculum Team Leader

    Name

    Contact

    Ms. Julianna Fernandez

    fernandezj@kingphilip.org

    Phone:  508-384-1000 

    Fax:  508-384-1006

     

    WORLD LANGUAGE STAFF

    Name

    Language

    Contact

    Website

    Ms. Balaschi

    Spanish

    balaschia@kingphilip.org

     

    Mrs. Capone-Bello

    Spanish

    caponebellos@kingphilip.org

     

    Mr. Childs

    French, Latin

    childsa@kingphilip.org

     

    Mrs. Costello

    ESL, Spanish

    costellor@kingphilip.org

     

    Ms. Dill

    French

    dille@kingphilip.org

     

    Ms. Fernandez

    Spanish

    fernandezj@kingphilip.org

     

    Ms. Figueiredo

    French

    figueiredo@kingphilip.org

     

    Mrs. Levesque

    Spanish

     levesquev@kingphilip.org

     
    Mr. Miller  Spanish

    millerd@kingphilip.org

     



    Criteria for Levels

    Honors

    In this accelerated, rigorous course, students work toward level appropriate proficiency by participating in the four major areas of language acquisition: listening, speaking, reading, and writing.    

    College Preparatory

    In this course, students work toward level appropriate proficiency by participating in the four major areas of language acquisition: listening, speaking, reading, and writing.